A place to come to see what's new at Heritage Spinning & Weaving – Lake Orion, MI

Isn’t she beautiful? This is my new wheel made just for me. I ordered it 6 or 7 years ago (see what I mean about waiting?!). I’m in love. Now to find the time to really sit down and spin.

She was made by Alden Amos in California out of American hardwoods. Part of the purchase process was to complete a survey about my foot to knee length, stride and what I like to spin. The survey worked because Alden made a wheel that fits (and suits) me perfectly.

I first learned about the Amos wheels when I took a class with Stephanie Gaustaad (Alden’s significant other) at SOAR 2000. She had several of his well-built tools and I admired them. Since I’ve also purchase his niddy noddy (hand carved, no metal, rustic and lovely), combs (serious weapons!) and scutching knife. I appreciate them all, perhaps because I have a tiny bit of a woodworking background, too. His tools sit well in my hands. They aren’t dainty, they are functional and well built.

The photo above was taken before they shipped her to me. The cat didn’t come with.

Comments on: "Good things come to those who wait (and wait . . . and wait)!" (3)

  1. Very cool!

  2. I’m so drooling on my keyboard right now. 🙂 Gorgeous.

  3. I love mine too. Just a totally beautiful spinning machine.

Leave a comment