A place to come to see what's new at Heritage Spinning & Weaving – Lake Orion, MI

Pretty isn’t it? Even unblocked, you can see that it really has potential. You might even recognize it as The Fiber Trends pattern by Evelyn Clark, “Estonian Garden Wrap.” Unfortunately, I didn’t think before I set out on my wrap adventure. I didn’t do my math. I got caught up in the heat of the moment. I wanted to knit IT and I wanted to knit it NOW! So, there you see three evenings worth of work, 168 7-wrap nupps (Estonian bobbles) and about $20 of wasted yarn. Duuuhhhh! The problem is that the pattern calls for lace weight yarn and I wanted a warm shawl because our church tends to be a bit chilly and that is where I wear a shawl most often. So, I thought it would be cool in a DK weight yarn.

Note to self: think first, knit second.

So, what to do to rescue it? Nothing. The yarn is Jaggerspun Zephyr that comes on a cone. Gorgeous stuff. 50/50 Merino wool and silk, feels great, knits beautifully. Shows patterns well. Doesn’t match for beans between different dye lots. Not that I really though it would, but I hoped!

What next? Well, this is the project we are knitting at the Spring Fiber Retreat next week, so I need to get it going again. I suppose I need to block that SAMPLE and evaluate it critically. Then, get started again – using a color that we have two cones of!

Lessons learned: I love Addi lace needles for lace work. They made the nupps possible. I love working with this yarn and I’ll get started using it again. I’ll consider this a swatch and calculate my yarn requirements before getting going again (what if it took more than two cones??????).

2nd not to self: take your own advice. Get plenty of yarn before you embark on a project!

Comments on: "Do what I say, not what I do" (2)

  1. Two posts in one day? Be still my heart! Great pictures, loved seeing Mariah dance. The ice really fooled me, too, I thought it was clouds. Too bad about the shawl, but good for newbies to learn that even the Master goofs now and then. Maybe it would be a nice burp cloth for a grandbaby?

  2. It’s a *beautiful* swatch! It could be made into a tiny little “shrug” for either a tiny little granddaughter or a Teddy Bear.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

